cookiesandcarrots

Where fitness and french fries find a healthy balance.

The Poached Egg

Leave a comment

At 22 years old, I feel pretty accomplished in the kitchen. I have made flaky pie crusts, tender and moist roast chicken, awesome crepes, and even beef wellington. However, poaching an egg has always seemed so impossible that I have never attempted it. And I LOVE poached eggs! Sadly I have lived in fear and thus lived without one of my favorite foods. Until Gordon Ramsay showed me how on Masterchef! Holy cow that man can cook. I figured if I was going to trust anyone’s instructions I would trust his. And I totally nailed it. 🙂

Heres a simple explanation but if you are scared like me and want something more detailed, I highly recommend watching this short video of Gordon himself.

Start by bringing a small pot of water to simmer. You do not want a full on rolling boil because it will be hard to keep the egg together. Crack an egg into a ramekin or small bowl and place by the stove. Once the water is simmering, add about a teaspoon of white vinegar. This is supposed to help the egg come together in the water. Then once you muster up enough courage, VERY gently slide the egg into the water and immediately begin bringing it together with a spoon. You will lose a little of the egg whites. That is pretty much impossible to avoid. However, the majority of the egg should form a cute little oval. Let simmer in the water about 2.5 to 3 minutes. No more than that or you will have a rubber egg. Thats it!! Not so scary after all….

Leave a comment